|• Mayor (2018–24)||Matthias Reinz (Ind.)|
|• Total||129.37 km2 (49.95 sq mi)|
|Elevation||202 m (663 ft)|
|• Density||130/km2 (340/sq mi)|
|Time zone||UTC+01:00 (CET)|
|• Summer (DST)||UTC+02:00 (CEST)|
|Vehicle registration||UH, LSZ, MHL|
The town was first mentioned in historical records ca. 932, as a village named "Salzaha". The town's name was changed to Langensalza ca. 1578, and "Bad" ("Spa") added to the name in 1956.
The town was plundered and damaged by fires during the Thirty Years' War (c. 1632). Fires again destroyed large parts of the town in 1711, including complete destruction of the town hall, which was rebuilt between 1742 and 1752.
In 1866 it was again the site of a battle between Prussia and Hanover during the Austro-Prussian War. This Battle of Langensalza is famous for being the last time intra-German forces have met in combat.
On April 5, 1945, Langensalza was occupied by American troops and handed over to the Red Army in early July. It became part of the Soviet (Russian) occupation zone and, from 1949 to 1990, was part of the German Democratic Republic.
Langensalza is a popular tourist destination, with a well-preserved medieval old town, a number of themed public gardens and a thermal spa bath. In 2011 it won the title "Most blooming town in Europe" as part of the Europe-wide horticultural competition Entente Florale.
Sulphur springs were discovered in 1811 and opened to the public as a curative bath in 1812. A new version of the public sulphur bath was opened in 1928. Salt and mineral water springs were discovered in 1996, which prompted the opening of many new curative facilities. Today a modern thermal bath attracts many visitors.
Bad Langensalza contains a Botanical Garden, along with a Rose Garden, a Magnolia Garden and an Arboretum. It is one of the few European towns with an authentic Japanese Garden. Bad Langensalza is also close to the Hainich National Park, Germany's oldest deciduous forest.
Every August, the town hosts a Middle Ages Festival (Mittelalterstadtfest) where townsfolk don traditional dress from the middle ages and visitors can experience medieval crafts, handwork, martial arts, food and music.
The town is on the German Timber-Frame Road (Fachwerkstraße) and is notable for the number of well-preserved medieval half-timbered (Fachwerk) houses.
Travertine stone has been mined in the town since medieval times, and is still carved there today. It forms the distinctive white stonework of the old town. Travertine from Langensalza was used in the building of the Brandenburg Gate and in one of the most famous works of modern architecture, the Barcelona Pavilion.
The then Augustinian monk Martin Luther visited Langensalza's (still preserved) Augustinian Cloister in 1516 in his role as District Vicar. As a result, the town is now on the Luther Trail. The poet Friedrich Gottlieb Klopstock lived in Langensalza between 1748 and 1750, where he composed some of his most famous odes. His sumptuous house is still standing in the Salzstraße. The poet Novalis lived for a time in Langensalza in 1796 whilst studying chemistry under Johann Christian Wiegleb at his house in the Markstraße. Christoph Wilhelm Hufeland, the most eminent German physician of the 19th Century, was born in Langensalza. He is buried in the famous Dorotheenstadt Cemetery in Berlin.
Klagentor (one of the medieval town gates)
One of the 30 medieval town wall towers
Friederikenschlösschen with Market Church in background
Langensalza from nearby Merxleben